James Hardie logo

Ask James Hardie
service & solutions

BDA ACT Chapter 2016 Building Design Awards

The BDA ACT Chapter Awards have been hailed as a “showcase of the diversity and quality of work” of building designers in the ACT region. We take a look at some standout entries from this year’s awards.

The BDA ACT Chapter Awards have been hailed as a “showcase of the diversity and quality of work” of building designers in the ACT region. The award categories are designed to highlight the specialisations of building designers, with categories including Sustainable/Solar Passive Design, Outstanding Value for Money, Design Excellence, Documentation and the major award of ACT Building Designer of the Year. 

The awards play a key role in raising the profile of Building Designers Australia and promoting local BDA members to both the ACT and surrounding market including industry. They highlight the value of being a member of the BDA as it provides a means for members (particularly small and/or new practitioners) to be recognised for their work. 

This year’s awards were celebrated on Wednesday 6th April 2016 at the Southern Innovations showroom in Fyshwick, ACT. Over 30 entries were received and the awards were shared across a variety of projects located in Canberra and surrounding region. 

All entrants and award winners showed a clever use of materials of materials and design. Notably, Plan It Green used Scyon Axon Smooth 133mm for their award winning entry, Dickson Renovation. Angela from Planit Green says she wanted a “clean finish that helped emphasised the mid-century styling of the home yet also contrasted with the Canberra red brickwork of the existing house.” 

Here is the full list of categories and award winners. 

High quality documentation: 
Patrick Swain of Kydra Designs – Linsen Straw bale residence 
Highly Commended: Tristan Ryall of Architecture Republic – Wamboin extension 

Value for money:  
Simon Croker of SC Design Solutions – The Greenhouse of Little Bidgey 
Highly commended: Adam Hobill of Adam Hobill Design – Deakin K Residence 

Design excellence:  
Adam Hobill of Adam Hobill Design – Deakin residence 
Highly commended: Bruce Condell of Blue Sky Homes – Major Creek 

Solar passive/sustainable design:  
Simon Croker of SC Design Solutions – Gunyi Retreat 
Highly commended: Tristan Ryan of Architecture Republic – Wanniassa renovation 

BDA ACT building designer of the year: 
Angela Knock of Planit Green 

Award winning entry from Plan It Green using Scyon Axon Smooth 133mm with a mixed façade.